Mission Statement

The Lorain Soil & Water Conservation District provides leadership in a partnership effort to help people conserve, maintain and improve the natural resources and environment in Lorain County.

Tractor with clouds winner.jpg

2021 Big Tree Winner


Jim Sheffield

Heading 2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Election Notice

The Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission will cause an election of Supervisors of the Lorain Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) to be held in accordance with Chapter 940 of the Ohio Revised Code. Individuals who own or occupy land within the Lorain  Soil and Water Conservation District and are 18 years of age or older may vote for Supervisor.

There are three ways an eligible voter can cast a ballot:

1.)  At the SWCD office located at 42110 Russia Road, Elyria, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  beginning Friday, August 12, 2022 until Friday, September 9, 2022.

2.)  At the Lorain SWCD Annual Meeting, which will take place on Saturday, September 10, 2022 at the Wellington Eagles, 631 South Main St., Wellington. Voting takes place from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

3.)  Voting absentee from Friday, August 12, 2022 until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, September 9, 2022, by requesting the ballot application and election ballot from the SWCD office at the following address: 42110 Russia Road, Elyria, or by calling 440-326-5800, or email lparsh@loraincounty.us.  Absentee ballots must be received by the SWCD office by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, September 9, 2022.                                                                         

Two Supervisors will be elected to a three‐year term commencing January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2025.

Nominees are:

  1. William Schlechter

  1. Ian Wilkshire


Join us as we continue to grow and follow our mission statement!

2022 Winter/Spring Newsletter

Our latest newsletter is now available!

Woodpecker Ditch Wetland Creation Project

Lorain Soil and Water Conservation District is currently accepting bids for the design and creation of wetlands at the Woodpecker Ditch Site.